top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaden Green

Adventures in Chicago with Miles Magee

Note from the editors:

Near the beginning of the year, Dr. Brown led the junior and senior class on a day trip to Chicago. Read about the experiences everyone had through this unedited and pleasant interview transcript on senior Miles Magee hosted by Caden Green.

 

Q. What would you like to say about the trip to Chicago, right off the bat?


It was a pretty cool trip. I liked the Art Institute. I mean in terms of stuff we actually did in Chicago, I liked the Art Institute because I saw swords and knights and also some famous paintings which was pretty cool. I saw the mini rooms, which were very tiny and very detailed, but I think the best part was really the train ride and the bits we spent exploring Chicago because I was really feeling the community there and stuff and I think that was the most valuable part of the Chicago trip.




The Art Institute of Chicago.


Q. Could you tell us more about the community that you felt on the trip?


No.


All right.


So for the community stuff I really felt us coming together, and not just as a senior class but also connecting with the junior class, because like we've, like the senior and junior class we've been together for, like, we haven't interacted as much as like seniors and juniors usually would because of the like the pandemic and stuff so it was nice getting to know them a little bit.


Q. Being a field trip, the primary goal would be education. What do you think that the educational goals were for the field trip and do you feel that they were met?


So the educational goals were, we went on the spears of our English classes. First, before we went to the Art Institute and did anything, we went to the American Writers Museum. I think the educational goals were to learn about American writing and style and stuff so I feel like that was met pretty well.


Q. Do you feel that you learned things that weren't on the agenda?


Oh for sure! I learned what it was like to explore a big city semi on your own, because like I never really done that before. Did I say semi big city because like Chicago? Anyway... That was pretty cool so it was learning how to be, like, an adult and stuff. So that was cool. I also learned that the world is very small because we saw the same guy like 4 times throughout the trip, which I thought was super funny. He was like, “Hey I saw you on the train” and I'm like, “yeah bro I was I don't remember you” and he said, like, “yeah you walked past me like five times.” *Seth Rogen laugh* Yeah so it was those little tiny life lessons that really enhanced through the whole experience. Or something cheesy like that.


Q. Any other anecdotes that you’d like to share?


Yeah, we had a party. It wasn't really a party. I wish we had a party in the back of the train that would have been super fun. And, like, been a nuisance to the whole train I really wish we had done that. Stop nodding at me like a therapist.


That's all I got well thank you for being here today.


Cool.



68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page